Here is the confirmed line-up of the 24 WorldSBK riders for 2022 | Superbikes of the world

Here’s a look at the official WorldSBK 2022 rider line-up after Pedercini Kawasaki became the latest team to confirm their plans.


2021 World Champions Yamaha will remain unchanged for this season as Toprak Razgatlioglu looks to defend his title.

The Turkish star has become the first rider to overtake Jonathan Rea since the Northern Irishman joined Kawasaki in 2015, while Andrea Locatelli will continue alongside Razgatlioglu for a second season at Pata Yamaha.

As a rookie, Locatelli finished fourth after a stellar season that saw him edge out fellow Italian Michael Rinaldi in the final race at Mandalika.

It is also the status quo at GRT Yamaha as American rider Garrett Gerloff, who was retained at the start of the 2021 campaign despite a very difficult second year in WorldSBK, will line up alongside the only Japanese rider in the series Kohta Nozane. which should make significant progress this year.

Finally, the Iwata-based constructor will have two privateer teams as Gil Motor Sport-Yamaha opted to retain French rider Christophe Ponsson for a second season, while Motoxracing will make its premier class debut with Isaac Vinales.


Of the five manufacturers currently racing in WorldSBK, Kawasaki is only the second alongside Yamaha to retain the same factory team roster.

Six-time world champion Rea will of course be looking to regain the championship after handing over the No. 1 plate to Razgatlioglu.

On the other side of the garage, Alex Lowes continues in what could be a big year for the Briton. Injuries have plagued much of Lowes’ 2021 season as he was unable to complete a full weekend in any of the final four innings.

Lucas Mahias, who has missed the last five rounds with a scaphoid injury, will also continue at Puccetti Kawasaki as the team remains one-rider.

At Orelac Racing Verdnatura, Vinales was originally set to stay with the team before 19-year-old Czech driver Oliver Konig secured that seat. Konig will go directly from WorldSSP300 to the premier category.

The latest Kawasaki race to be announced is one that was confirmed just today.

Belgian rider Cresson will return for a second season at Pedercini Kawasaki following team negotiations with 2013 world champion Tom Sykes and returning BSB rider Leon Haslam that proved unsuccessful.


The first full factory team to change its roster for the 2022 season was Racing Ducati as Alvaro Bautista replaced departing Scott Redding.

Bautista has been on his new Panigale V4-R twice already – the first came in December at Jerez ahead of a two-day test at Portimao earlier this month.

Alongside the Spaniard will be Rinaldi who had a difficult first season in the factory squad, despite four wins.

The inconsistency was a big problem for the Italian who finished outside the top ten five times more than Redding, while Rinaldi also finished 219 points behind his more experienced team-mate.

Axel Bassani will return with Motocorsa Ducati next season after an impressive 2021 rookie campaign.

However, Ducati will have a completely new line-up when it comes to its final two teams as former WorldSSP riders Philipp Oettl and Luca Bernardi make the move with GoEleven and Barni Spark Racing respectively.


BMW’s third season back in WorldSBK will see them led by Redding who replaces a BSB-linked Sykes.

Redding has been a constant contender for the Championship throughout the 2021 season and will bring a wealth of winning experience to a team and constructor that desperately needs it.

Michael Van Der Mark remains with the factory squad for what will be his second year with the German team.

Everything is changing at Bonovo Action as Jonas Folger has left the fold, while the team has also gone from one to two riders – these being Eugene Laverty and Loris Baz who is returning after a season in MotoAmerica.


The HRC team is the only team to have an all-new factory line-up as former Grand Prix riders Iker Lecuona and Xavi Vierge have moved to WorldSBK.

Lecuona is leaving MotoGP after spending two years with Tech 3 KTM, while Virgo is leaving Moto2 where he has spent the past two seasons with Petronas Sprinta.

The latest team to be fully confirmed for next year is MIE Honda, which like Bonovo has gone from one rider to two.

Argentinian Leandro Mercado will stay on board a CBR1000RR-R for the third consecutive year, while another former MotoGP and Moto2 rider in the person of Hafizh Syahrin will be his teammate.

Confirmed riders and teams for the 2022 season:

Pata Yamaha with Brixx WorldSBK: Toprak Razgatlioglu, Andrea Locatelli

Kawasaki Racing Team WorldSBK: Jonathan Rea, Alex Lowes Ducati: Alvaro Bautista, Michael Rinaldi

BMW Motorrad WorldSBK Team: Scott Redding, Michael Van Der Mark

HRC Team: Iker Lecuona, Xavi Virgin

GRT Yamaha WorldSBK Team: Garrett Gerloff, Kohta Nozane

Motocorsa Ducati Racing Team: Axel Bassani

GoEleven Team: Philipp Oettl

Kawasaki Puccetti Racing: Lucas Mahias

Barni Spark Ducati Racing: Luca Bernardi

Bonovo Action BMW Team: Loris Baz, Eugene Laverty

CIE Honda Racing: Leandro Mercado, Hafizh Syahrin

TPR Pedercini Racing Kawasaki: Loris Cresson

Yamaha Motoxracing WorldSBK Team: Isaac Vinales

Orelac Racing Verdnatura: Oliver Konig

Gil Motor Sport Yamaha: Christophe Ponsson

Comments are closed.