Indonesian WorldSBK 2022 Results – Cycle News

Gordon Ritchie | November 11, 2022



WorldSBK Championship favorite Alvaro Bautista ( Racing – Ducati) set the fastest lap on day one of track action at Mandalika with a time of 1:33.626, almost 0.5 seconds faster faster than the next best rider, Toprak Razgatlioglu (Pata Yamaha WorldSBK Team). Every driver improved on his best time from FP1 this afternoon as the track started to give a lot more grip. Bautista, for example, found four seconds of FP1, and Razgatliolgu was more than three seconds faster than his morning best.

Alvaro Bautista and Toprak Razgatlioglu stuck together in FP2. Can Bautista win the title this weekend?

The FP2 session was red flagged and restarted twice – once when Hafizh Syahrin Bin Abdullah (MIE Racing Honda Team) fell and his spinning bike was left in the middle of the track, then again when Iker Lecuona (HRC Honda) suffered a big highside and had to be helped by marshals and doctors.

Michael Ruben Rinaldi ( Racing – Ducati) clinched third place as the track remained slippery in FP2, with the Italian rider edging Jonathan Rea (Kawasaki Racing Team) into fourth in the standings overnight.

Garrett Gerloff (GRT Yamaha) did well in sixth place but the surprise of the day was to see Xavi Fores (Barni Spark Racing Ducati) climb to sixth place, ahead of Andrea Locatelli (Pata Yamaha WorldSBK Team) and Xavi Vierge (HRC Honda)

Axel Bassani (MotoCorsa Racing Ducati) finished ninth and Scott Redding (BMW Motorrad WorldSBK Team) was the first BMW rider to come in 10th.

Indonesian WorldSBK 2022 results — Friday

1 Alvaro Bautista (duke) 1:33.626s
2 Toprak Razgatlioglu (Yam) +0.462s
3 Mr. Rubén Rinaldi (duke) +0.964s
4 Jonathan Rea (kaw) +0.969s
5 Garrett Gerloff (Yam) + 1.217s


Nicolo Beluga (Aruba Racing Ducati) clinched virtual pole position overnight after two free practice sessions at a very Ducati-friendly Mandalika circuit in dry but tricky track conditions.

Raffaele De Rosa (Ducati Orelac Racing VerdNatura) was second fastest and Federico Caricasulo (Althea Racing Ducati) third, with the first four-cylinder machine in the combined standings belonging to Yari Montella (Kawasaki Puccetti Racing), in fourth place.

Indonesian WorldSBK Results 2022 Bulega WorldSSP
Bulega topped the WorldSSP Friday timesheets.

The track was recently resurfaced and proved to be very slippery but also hard on the tyres, prompting Pirelli to provide each team with an extra set of tires for this weekend. Lap times were just under two seconds slower than previous bests at this circuit, as they were used for WorldSSP in 2021.

Niki Tuuli (MV Agusta Reparto Corse F3 800 RR) was fifth on day one, with Stefano Manzi (Dynavolt Triumph Street Triple RS) sixth.

After a season of near domination by the Yamaha riders, the fastest R6 rider, Glenn van Straalen (EAB Racing Yamaha), finished seventh.

Lorenzo Baldassarri (Evan Bros. WorldSSP Yamaha), Dominique Aegerter (Ten Kate Racing Yamaha) and Can Öncü (Kawasaki Puccetti Racing) complete Friday’s top 10.

Indonesian WorldSSP 2022 results — Friday

1 Nicholas Bulega (duke) 1:38.004s
2 Raffaele De Rosa (duke) +0.223s
3 Federico Caricasulo (duke) + 0.245s
4 Yari Montella (kaw) +0.291s
5 Niki Tuuli (MV) +0.341s

For more WorldSBK news and results click here

Comments are closed.