It is a success Toyota 24 Hours 1-2 and more SA in Gazoo Racing


It was a spectacular finish as La Sarthe took over another leader on the last lap in LMP2.

And elsewhere, it was another amazing weekend for South Africa’s international motor racing stars during Race Week 35 in 2021.

Toyota’s 24 Hours of Le Mans treble

Toyota Gazoo Racing scored a dominant first victory in the Hypercar Le Mans 1-2 era as Kamui Kobabashi, Mike Conway and Jose Maria Lopez eventually found success in the number 7 car.

Kelvin van der Linde.

They beat Kazuki Nakajima, Sébastien Buemi and the sister of Brendon Hartley n ° 8 GR010 Hybrid by two laps.
André Negrao, Nicolas Lapierre, Matthew Vaxvivere’s Alpine finished third ahead of the two Glickenhaus cars, which also made them a 100% finish for the Hypercars of the new era.

There was a major drama and a huge sting in the tail in LMP2.
WRT’s lead Oreca Gibson stopped to retire on the very last lap.

This left WRT teammate Robin Frijns dodging the stage finishes ahead of him and also the flagman standing in the middle of the track as he pushed back Tom Blomqvist’s similar Jota car for a sensational victory alongside Ferdinand Hasberg and Charles Milesi.

Alessandro Pier Guidi, James Calado and Como Ledogar’s Ferrari 488 GTE Evo beat Antonio Garcia, Jordan Taylor, Nicky Catsburg Corvette C8.R to win the GTE Pro while François Perrodo, Nicklas Nielsen and Alessio Rovera achieved a Ferrari double in GTE Am.
The two South African drivers at Le Mans 21, Jonathan Aberdein’s LMP2 Oreca and David Perel’s Ferrari GTE Am retired overnight.

Stephen Odendaal.

Another splendid weekend for the stars SA

It was however another great weekend for other South Africans competing around the world. Kelvin van der Linde took his third DTM German Touring Car victory behind the wheel of his Audi R8 in Saturday’s opening race, while his brother Sheldon’s BMW M6 is sixth.

Both brothers retired in race two as Red Bull F1 refugee Alex Albon drove that team’s Ferrari 488 to a debut DTM victory.
Kelvin opened his DTM Championship lead with 33 points midway through the DTM season.

Switching to two wheels, South African World Supersport hero Steven Odendaal rode his Yamaha twice at home behind title rival Dominique Aegeter to bolster his second place in the championship in Navarre, Spain.

Also in Navarre, Scott Redding’s Ducati beat Kawasaki World Champion Jonathan Rea and Toprak Razgatlioglu’s Yamaha in the first two World Superbike races.

Razgatlioglu won the final ahead of Redding and Rea to get closer to Rea in the lead in the title race.

Elsewhere, Josef Newgarden fought off Pato O’Ward for his second Indycar victory of the season at Gateway as O’Ward took the lead in points. And Ronnie Quintarelli and Tsugio Matsuda claimed their first All Japan Super GT victory of the season at Suzuka in a Nissan GT-R 1-2-3.

Pentecost trades for dominance at Matatiele

Closer to home, Michael Pentecost swapped in a Kawasaki and dominated the Matatiele SA Cross Country Motorcycle round. He beat the KTM of OR2 winner Bradley Cox and OR3 winner, Husqvarna of Davin Cocker, KTM of Jarryd Coetzee and Scott Heygate and d’Artagnan Lobjoit on another Kawasaki. Wade Blaauw’s KTM won the Seniors, the Husqvarna Masters won by Wayne Farmer, Branden Swanepoel won the High School on his Sherco and Cobus Bester Juniors on a Husqvarna.

The Scribante grandsons played on the circuit named after Grandfather Aldo in Port Elizabeth. Franco Scribante and Chevron of Jason Campos achieved the double during the twin 3 Hours of SA Endurance. They beat the Ligier and Keagan Masters of Riaan Botma and Jeffrey Kruger, the giant of Daniel Rowe and Graham Nathan killing the Volkswagen Polo GTI on Friday. And they beat the Lamborghini of Xolile Letlaka and Tschops Sipuka and the Porsche of Heinrich Lategan and Verissimo Tavares in the fourth round on Saturday.

Michel Pentecost.

Charl Arangies defeated Silvio, Aldo Scribante and Letlaka against a Lamborghini Huracan 1-2-3-4 in the first GT3 race ahead of Michael Stephen’s McLaren and David Buckham’s Bentley. Silvio Scribante beat Arangies and Aldo Scribante, the Ferrari of Mikaeel Pitamber, Stephen and Letlaka in Race 2. And Arangies did another Huracan 1-2-3-4 from Arnold Neveling, Silvio and Aldo Scribante, Pitamber and Letlaka finally.

Local is lekker in PE

Also at Aldo Scribante, Deon Slabbert’s Polo won both EP Modified regional races, beating Rudolf de Vos’s Chevrolet Can Am and Gerhard Oosthuysen’s BMW in the first race and Geoff Stephen’s VW and Marais Ellis BMW in the second.

Franco Scribante.

And Oliver McKay won both motorcycle races on a Kawasaki and he also shared the 150 wins with Dylan Grobler. Grobler also won both 100 rounds.

Source: Motorsportmedia

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.