Oulton BSB: Race weekend stats, facts and pub ammunition

British superbikes

Image: Impact Images

Race weekend stats, facts and ammunition for this weekend’s opener Bennetts British Superbike Showdown at Oulton Park

Oulton Park has staged at least one round of the British Superbike Championship every year since 1996, a total of 114 races.

The 114 races have seen 35 different winners and 49 different drivers on the podium – both figures are the highest of any BSB circuit.

Oulton Park marks the start of the three rounds and nine Races Showdown with the eight contenders being Bradley Ray, Jason O’Halloran, Tarran Mackenzie, Glenn Irwin, Lee Jackson, Kyle Ryde, Rory Skinner and Tommy Bridewell.

Ray (61) leads the way on Showdown Podium Points followed by O’Halloran (48), Mackenzie (31), Irwin (16), Jackson (14), Ryde (13), Skinner (9) and Bridewell (8).

Yamaha has four representatives in the Showdown (Ray, Ryde, O’Halloran and Mackenzie), Kawasaki two (Skinner and Jackson) and Honda and Ducati one (Irwin and Bridewell respectively).

Bridewell will be making her fifth appearance on Showdown, her first in 2012.

O’Halloran will make his fourth appearance on the Showdown, Irwin and Mackenzie their third and Ray his second. Jackson, Skinner and Ryde will all make their first appearances.

Of the eight contenders, only Mackenzie has already been BSB champion, in 2021.

O’Halloran, Bridewell, Mackenzie, Ray and Jackson have all won BSB races at Oulton Park before.

Jackson’s victory in May of this year was his first and, to date, only BSB victory.

Ryuichi Kiyonari is the most successful driver at Oulton Park with 12 wins followed by Shane Byrne (11), Leon Haslam (9), Josh Brookes (8), Steve Hislop (7), John Reynolds, Tommy Hill and Jason O’Halloran (all 5) and Leon Camier and Tommy Bridewell (both 4).

Four of Tommy Bridewell’s seven BSB victories have come at Oulton Park, making it his most successful BSB circuit

Shane Byrne claimed the most podiums at Oulton Park with 33 followed by Josh Brookes (30), John Reynolds (23), Leon Haslam (20), Michael Rutter (15), Ryuichi Kiyonari, James Ellison and Tommy Bridewell (all 14 ), Steve Hislop (12), Tommy Hill (11) and Chris Walker (10).

Josh Brookes’ last BSB podiums came at Oulton Park last September.

Danny Buchan and Bradley Ray claimed their first BSB podium finishes at Oulton Park in 2015 and 2017 respectively.

Peter Hickman (2nd), Christian Iddon (4th) and Takumi Takahashi (11th) all recorded their best results of the 2022 season at the final round at Snetterton.

Twenty-five riders have now scored points in the 2022 British Superbike Championship, the most recent of which was Dean Harrison (15th) in race three at Snetterton two weeks ago.

Ducati is the most successful manufacturer at Oulton with 35 wins followed by Yamaha (27), Kawasaki (19), Honda (18), Suzuki (11) and BMW (4).

16 of the last 17 BSB races at Oulton Park have been won by Yamaha or Ducati riders (eight each).

Yamaha’s last win at Oulton Park was in May this year with Bradley Ray taking a winning streak.

Kawasaki’s last win at Oulton Park also came in May this year, with Lee Jackson.

Ducati’s last victories came in September last year when Tommy Bridewell took two wins.

Honda’s last win at Oulton Park was in 2017 with Dan Linfoot.

BMW’s last win at Oulton dates back to 2016 with Richard Cooper.

Suzuki’s last win at Oulton was in 2013 with Josh Brookes.

Comments are closed.